Summary of the NELAP Accreditation Council Meeting June 21, 2010

1. Roll call

The NELAP Accreditation Council (AC) met at 12:30 PM CDT on June 21, 2010. Aaren Alger chaired the meeting. Those members in attendance are listed in Attachment 1. In addition to those listed, Eric Smith joined the call.

2. Minutes

Minutes from the 6-7-10 meeting were reviewed and approved for posting.

3. Update on new applications

Lynn Bradley reported that MN is working on a response to their onsite evaluation report. Stephanie Drier reported that Susan Wyatt was out of town, but Stephanie would get a copy of the report from Kristin Brown and get started on the response.

4. DW FoPT

Eric Smith, Chair of the PT Board, was on the call to discuss the proposed changes to the DW FoPT tables that need NELAP AC review and approval. Questions had been sent previously to the PT Board outlining concerns (see 5-17-10 minutes). Eric explained that the purpose of the changes in categories including having analytes appearing in more than one place in the table and having new headings for "Purge and Trap Organic Parameters" and "Extractable Organic Parameters" was to clear up confusion in these categories. The PT Board had hoped to have these tables approved by the time of the DC meeting, but if so many questions exist, it can discussed in DC and postpone final approval until January. Eric will take this table back to the PT Board for further discussion.

Eric also mentioned that there were some issues with the NPW PT tables. There are some experimental analytes that do not meet the SOP criteria for moving to the regular PT tables. The PT Board would like to go ahead and move some of these even if the criteria not met. Eric suggested that the NELAP AC and the PT Board have a joint call on July 15 to discuss the feasibility of this. Some AC members have concerns if not all criteria are met. Eric will send draft information before the call and Ilona will provide call in information.

5. Response to TNI Board memo- Action Plan

Aaren had sent a revised final version of the memo by email for discussion. Scott Siders had moved approval by email. Steve Stubbs seconded. Cathy Westerman suggested that the phrase "On behalf of the Board" be struck so that it did not put Aaren in a position of

sole responsibility sending the memo. It should be clear that the memo is from the entire Board (AC). All concurred with that change.

Additional items discussed included the role of the lab observation during the evaluation. Kevin Kubik stated that some AB evaluators did not agree with the role outlined in the memo. The NELAC AC agreed to leave the role as described.

Results of voting on approval of the memo follow:

CA absent

FL abstain

IL absent

KS yes

LADEQ yes

LADHH yes

NH abstain

NJ abstain

NY absent

OR abstain

PA yes

TX yes

UT yes

VA abstain

All who chose to abstain or were absent will be allowed to vote electronically before July 2, 2010. Following approval, Aaren will present to the TNI Board at their July meeting.

6. SW 846 work group

Aaren reported that the workgroup had not met and there was no action to report.

7. Next meeting

Aaren asked the members to send her ideas about short term and long term goals before the TNI Board's strategic planning meeting on June 25-26.

The next conference call of the NELAP AC should be July 5, 2010. However that is a state holiday for most. Carol will poll the group for another available time. Potential agenda items include:

Approval of minutes
Update on new applications
SW 846 work group report
Discussion of NPW FoPT tables
Discussion and approval of revised evaluation schedule
Review of schedule for DC meeting

Attachment 1

STATE	Representative	Present
CA	George Kulasingam T: (510) 620-3155 F: (510) 620-3165 E: gkulasin@cdph.ca.gov	Yes
	Alternate: Jane Jensen jjensen@cdph.ca.gov	
FL	Stephen Arms T: (904) 791-1502 F: (904) 791-1591 E: steve_arms@doh.state.fl.us	
	Alternate: Carl Kircher carl kircher@doh.state.fl.us	Yes
IL	Scott Siders T: (217) 785-5163 F: (217) 524-6169 E: scott.siders@illinois.gov	No
	Alternate: TBA	
KS	Dennis L. Dobson 785-291-3162 ddobson@kdhe.state.ks.us F: (785) 296-1638	Yes
	Alternate: Michelle Probasco mprobasco@kdheks.gov	
LA DEQ	Paul Bergeron T: 225-219-1244 F: 225-219-8244 E: Paul.Bergeron@la.gov	Yes
	Altérnate:	
LA DHH	Louis Wales T: (225) 342-8491 F: (225) 342-7494 E: <u>lwales@dhh.la.gov</u>	Yes

	Alternate: Ginger Hutto ghutto@dhh.la.gov	
	<u> </u>	
NH	Bill Hall T: (603) 271-2998 F: (603) 271-5171 E: george.hall@des.nh.gov	Yes
	Alternate: TBD	
NJ	Joe Aiello T: (609) 633-3840 F: (609) 777-1774 joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us	Yes
	Alternate : TBD	
NY	Stephanie Ostrowski T: (518) 485-5570 F: (518) 485-5568	No
	Alternate: Dan Dickinson dmd15@health.state.ny.us	
OR	Irene Ronning T: 503-693-4122 F: 503-693-5602 E: irene.e.ronning@state.or.us Alternate: Raeann Haynes haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us	Yes
PA	Aaren Alger T: (717) 346-8212 F: (717) 346-8590 E: aaalger@state.pa.us Alternate: Dana Marshall dmarshall@state.pa.us	Yes
ТХ	Stephen Stubbs T: (512) 239-3343 F: (512) 239-4760 E: <u>sstubbs@tceq.state.tx.us</u>	Yes

	Alternate: Steve Gibson jgibson@tceq.state.tx.us	
UT	David Mendenhall T: (801) 584-8470 F: (801) 584-8501 E: davidmendenhall@utah.gov Alternate: Kristin Brown	Yes
	kristinbrown@utah.gov	
VA	Cathy Westerman T: 804-648-4480 ext.391 cathy.westerman@dgs.va.gov	Yes
	Alternate: Ed Shaw T: 804-648-4480 ext.152 ed.shaw@dgs.va.gov	
	Program Administrator: Carol Batterton T: 830-990-1029 or 512-924-2102 E: carbat@beecreek.net	Yes
EPA Liaison	Kevin Kubik T: 732-321-4377 E: kubik.kevin@epa.gov	Yes
	Evaluation Coordinator: Lynn Bradley T: 202-565-2575 E: Bradley.lynn@epa.gov	Yes
	Quality Assurance Officer Paul Ellingson T: 801-201-8166 E: altasnow@gmail.com	Yes
	Minnesota Susan Wyatt Stephanie Drier	Yes
	Oklahoma David Caldwell Judy Duncan	Yes